It’s A New Year And A New Me!

Standard

Oh, look how cute that dog is!  That’s my little rescue angel, Nash at a local park this past fall.  He’s also a great distraction from my weight that has gotten out of control.  I’ve been on more diets that Oprah, always thinking if I just lose the weight, I can keep it off.  Twenty diets later, I’m heavier than I have ever been and tired of being in denial, tired of wearing black, tired of trying to disquise the one thing that bothers me the most, being fat. You know when I knew I wasn’t fooling anyone?  When I would make a joke about being fat and friends would laugh and say “oh” (insert more nervous laughter).

So I signed up for Weight Watchers last Thursday because frankly, I’m tired of hiding, disquising, whatever it takes to hide the rolls!  You know, that Jennifer Hudson does look pretty darn good and I think Weight Watcher is doable, as long as you get a class leader that’s not obsessed with giving you a star for losing 5 lbs.  What, are we 5??????

So, wish me luck and please feel free to share your “Who am I really foolin” stories. I will keep you updated on my progress…hopefully, I’ll progress!  Here’s a great recipe leader Kim shared with the class last week.

Banana Split cake

OMG.  This is better than any Christmas cookie I shoved down my mouth last month!

Serves 4  and only 5 Points Plus

Crust:  Line an 8 x 8 square cake pan with 8 2 1/2 square fat free graham crackers.

Filling:  Mix 2 cups skim milk with a package of vanilla sugar free pudding.  Pour over graham crackers.

Add these layers:

1 banana sliced

6 TBSP sugar free/fat free whipped topping

1 cups sliced strawberries

1/2 cup crushed pinapple drained (I used pinapple chunks cuz that’s what was in my pantry)

4 TBSP coconut

Chill.  Cut into 4 servings.

Hey, who’s been sticking their fork in this???????  ….Jeff??????

About nancyalden

I'm a chef in my own home always looking for new recipes to tackle, an animal lover and retro decorator who loves to recycle. Some call it bohemian, I call it being a bargain hunter. I have been a radio broadcaster for over 30 years and currently host SiriusXM's Classic Vinyl channel broadcasting from Cleveland's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I volunteer and dedicate my free time to local animal shelters. I reside with her husband Jeff, our dog Nash and cat Blue.

10 responses »

  1. Thanks Nancy, I’m going to try that recipe soon. Last week I found myself signing up for my company’s fitness center & programs. The plan is to run off the rolls 😀 They cover WW too, but I haven’t done that yet. I cant wait to hear how it works for you!!

  2. Looks delish! Good luck on your WW journey. I too hated being fat and joined WW January 2011 and have lost 75 lbs. Set a realistic goal, keep positive, and remember “nothing tastes as good as being thin feels”.

  3. I Love weight watchers – I easily lost 20 lbs when I was on it last time and without depriving myself of the foods I love. Nance – you are always so beautiful inside and out – if it makes you happy do it and good luck – I know you will do great. When I come back to C-town I will join you too! Love ya, T.

  4. Nancy!!!! Yay for you and Welcome! I have been doing WW since September and I’m down 28 lbs., and love this new way of living! Where do you go to meetings? I am happy to offer good ideas I pick up along the way! Good for you! XXOO
    Laura Gambrell (your Napa Classic wineaux buddy)

  5. I wish you all the best in the world, ww is such a great program, just look at that yummy dessert
    you posted! You will never feel deprived so many little tricks they have to get you through. I know because dieting is just part of my DNA.

    You are so talented and creative in so many ways your new beginnings will be filled with lots
    of exciting adventures! Sending you many positive vibes for all your future successes!
    Diane

    • Thanks Diane…you crack me up. I think diet is in my DNA too! LOL Thanks for your positive vibes. It means the world to me especially from long time friends! Have you looked at pinterest.com? I think it’s right up your ally with all your cool inexpensive decorating ideas. You should sign up or at least take a look at the “pin boards”!

  6. Thanks for the recipe and your energy. Been in WW for years – it does work – good luck. I’m having a hard time getting back on track, but your energy is encouraging.

Leave a comment